Question To Those With Good Knowledge Of Biochemistry Re PUFA

Elie

Forum Supporter
When i studied chemistry, the double bond was presented as a more stable bond than a single bond. Based on this PUFA should be more stable than SFA. However, it is explained that the double bonds in PUFA (an extra electon?) is more reactive than the single bonds in SFA which happily bind carbons with hydrogens. How do you reconcile these two different explanations / understandings?

SFA are double bonds. PUFA is two double bonds, which are really bent and unstable

"Just about everything that goes wrong involves FFA increase. If they are totally saturated fatty acids, such as from coconut oil and butter, those are less harmful, but they still tend to shift the mitochondrial cellular metabolism away from using glucose and fructose and turning on various stress related things; By lowering the carbon dioxide production I think is the main mechanism."-RP

Last edited:
OP
Elie

Elie

Forum Supporter
Thanks. I understand that.
My question is meant to reconcile the commonly held belief in chemistry that double bonds (as the ones that occur in PUFA) are stronger and more stable than single bonds (as in SFA) with what we are taught by Peat, that PUFA (despite the presence of the supposed strong double bonds) is more reactive than the stable SFA.
If a double bond is supposedly stronger why PUFA more reactive than SFA?

Thanks. I understand that.
My question is meant to reconcile the commonly held belief in chemistry that double bonds (as the ones that occur in PUFA) are stronger and more stable than single bonds (as in SFA) with what we are taught by Peat, that PUFA (despite the presence of the supposed strong double bonds) is more reactive than the stable SFA.
If a double bond is supposedly stronger why PUFA more reactive than SFA?