Progesterone Weight Gain And Gut Dysbiosis

Osteo33

Hi there
I’ve noticed and since read that taking progesterone can cause weight gain esp in those with gut dysbiosis.
Can someone explain the mechanism for this?
Thanks

lisamarie1010

Hi there
I’ve noticed and since read that taking progesterone can cause weight gain esp in those with gut dysbiosis.
Can someone explain the mechanism for this?
Thanks

I am new to Peat and the Forum as well - and have been taking Progest-E, loving it - and suddenly I broke out all around my application locations. AND< yes, I gained MUCH weight. Very interested to know too!

lampofred

I read about this in Nathan Hatch's book but I lost the book and can't go back to confirm, but I think he said it's because progesterone is inducing some protective response against the gut bacteria. I know that doesn't really make sense, wish I still had the book so that I could go back and reread that part.

I do remember him saying the weight gain was a good and protective thing though.

lisamarie1010

I have read Nathan too: going through the massive amount of information again. Yes, I understand there is a healing- and a patience -to gain weight before your body can recalibrate and rebalance.

LUH 3417

The weight I gain in progesterone doesn’t look healthy at all though. It’s dimpled and my skin looks like it’s aged so much in the past few years. Even my thigh skin is starting to look old. I never had cellulite on my arms and now I do. I would rather be healthy than have nice looking skin but more than that I rather not have to choose. Feel like my friends and cousins who are my age work out every day and diet and have great taut looking skin and here I am avoiding exercise and taking progesterone and looking like my mom.no offense to my mom.

lisamarie1010

Honestly, Oh I totally relate to absolutely everything you wrote. Would prefer to not make a choice.