Procrastination. Inability to study or focus.

sleepless1

I am sitting at the library. I've been here for 3 hours. There is a book in front of me but I have yet to open it. This happens everytime!

Is it:

-Learned helplessness
-Fear of failure (not learning anything?)
-Something else?

Note that anxiety puts a lock on my brain so studying while nervous will be pointless anyways because nothing will be retained, or at worse, it will subconsciously condition me to hate the thing I'm studying.

When I was younger I had an intellectual curiosity and got pleasure from learning, after a few years on SSRI's this seemed to go away.

How can I start studying, and also, get that curiousity back?

Korven

I get the same thing when I have high estrogen symptoms from gut irritation. I feel extremely stimulated (in a negative way) and am unable to focus on anything for more than a few seconds, I also get lazy, angry and frustrated, feel overwhelmed, etc. This goes away when I stick with foods that I feel good eating, coffee is also helpful for me.

What does you diet look like? I would recommend keeping a food journal and see if some foods trigger this state for you. Low body temps/hypothyroidism also makes it hard to study.

I am sitting at the library. I've been here for 3 hours. There is a book in front of me but I have yet to open it. This happens everytime!

Is it:

-Learned helplessness
-Fear of failure (not learning anything?)
-Something else?

Note that anxiety puts a lock on my brain so studying while nervous will be pointless anyways because nothing will be retained, or at worse, it will subconsciously condition me to hate the thing I'm studying.

When I was younger I had an intellectual curiosity and got pleasure from learning, after a few years on SSRI's this seemed to go away.

How can I start studying, and also, get that curiousity back?