Postmenopausal- Take only progesterone?

Lianda

I've read a lot of the Ray Peat articles and posts on estrogen, and they scared me. I had been using bio-identical estrogen for many years, and then my good doctor (Endo- who has been great with all other things) told me to take a combo of Estrogen-Progesterone-Testosterone. After my reading, I stopped taking the cream, and have just been taking the Progest-E.
But she assures me that I'll have other symptoms without estrogen: loss of sex drive, drying out....
It's so hard to go against my doctor's recommendations, because she has been so good with everything else. I guess I'm looking for a bit of support here.
My menopausal symptoms of heat surges at night (in bed) have gotten a LOT better. But what about all the other things? I read that estrogen won't help with bone loss (I had osteopenia dx'd 10 years ago).
I'm not a scientist, and my reading of all the contradictory information makes me wonder: WHO should I trust?

Thanks-

HDD

It is difficult and disturbing to not be able to trust advice of physicians. My sister and sister in law both use a vaginal estrogen cream. I don't recall the name of it but when I looked it up, it had a long list of side effects. I sent the side effects list it to my sister and she quit using it.
Just a few quotes that might be of some help.

"The stabilizing action of progesterone is especially visible in muscle tissue, such as the uterus, blood vessel walls, the heart, the intestines and the bladder. Less visibly, progesterone stabilizes and normalizes nervous, secretory and growth processes. Biochemically, it provides the material out of which all the other steroid hormones (such as cortisone, testosterone, estrogen and salt-regulating aldosterone) can be made as needed. Progesterone's simple molecular structure allows it to balance either an excess or deficiency of those other hormones, even when there is a defect in their synthesis."
viewtopic.php?f=19&t=843