Phenibut Withdrawal

HDD

My son is experiencing some extreme withdrawal symptoms from taking 2g and up for over a week. I read theanine might help. Any other suggestions? Could cyproheptadine help?

BobbyDukes

You need to check this thread:

http://www.mindandmuscle.net/forum/4232 ... t-casualty

It's the humdinger of phenibut withdrawal threads. Everything has been discussed in it.

If it was me personally, I would buy some baclofen, and taper off using that.

I have some experience myself of being addicted to a GABA-b agonist, as I went through a period of addiction with GBL. Baclofen works a treat, but you have to know what you are doing, and how to dose it. Once you taper off the phenibut, you then taper off the baclofen. The experience can be painless, if you know what you're doing.

Phenibut is just as bad as GHB for withdrawals (if not worse), so your son must be having a rough time. The inability to sleep and hallucinations, is what screwed me up. It was like it was never going to end. Then, after about 3 days of not being able to sleep, your body finally gives in, and sleep gradually gets better. But this differs from person to person, and can depend on many things (especially how much they have been taking and for how long).

It may even be sensible to just ask your Dr. He may not know anything at all about phenibut; but that's why he's a medical professional. It's his job to use the tools he has at his disposal, to see what the drug does, and then think of what he can do for you.

Cyproheptadine is unlikely to do much, because it doesn't affect GABA-B. Theanine is also weak sauce. A benzo would be far more efficacious, or a drug like baclofen (that acts on the same receptor, and has nowhere near the abuse potential of pheninut).