Oxidative Respiration On Low Energy Activities

HighEnergyMed

Hello All,

I am fairly new to the work of Ray Peat and thus I hope this question is not obvious.

Looking at the bodily Energy Systems, I was told in University, that
Low Intensity Aerobic Acitvity (from 0-40% Intensity) are fueled predominantly by Fatty Acids.

If that is true, wouldn´t this interfere with Ray Peat stating that our body is using mitochondrial respiration when glucose and glycogen are available and only "switches" to fat metabolism once it is stressed, which has the negative side effects of adrenaline rise, insulin resistance, cortisol rise, low thyroid etc.)

I would appreciate your answer.

Thank you.

Best,
Michael

managing

Hello All,

I am fairly new to the work of Ray Peat and thus I hope this question is not obvious.

Low Intensity Aerobic Acitvity (from 0-40% Intensity) are fueled predominantly by Fatty Acids.

If that is true, wouldn´t this interfere with Ray Peat stating that our body is using mitochondrial respiration when glucose and glycogen are available and only "switches" to fat metabolism once it is stressed, which has the negative side effects of adrenaline rise, insulin resistance, cortisol rise, low thyroid etc.)

Thank you.

Best,
Michael
Would you have source on that claim? It seems counterintuitive in that light exercise shouldn't tap reserve energy but should use readily available resources.

lampofred

Hello All,

Thank you.

Best,
Michael

That's the because the majority of adults nowadays are chronically low metabolism. Stress causes the body to switch over to the slower fat-based metabolism to spare resources. Glucose oxidation needs a lot of good nutrition to sustain chronically in skeletal muscle (carbs, protein, low PUFA, etc.), so in unhealthy adults it's only turned when absolutely necessary, like in high intensity exercise.

Hans

Forum Supporter
Hello All,

Thank you.

Best,
Michael