Overdosing Red Light Causing Anxiety and Insomnia -- How do I fix this?

meeka

I have been using red light since September of 2021, so a little over a year. Previously I would do red light therapy a couple times a month for a total of 10 minutes per session. Usually 7 minutes on my abdomen and 3 minutes on my thyroid. Initially the only things I've noticed was the fact that the next day I would feel very calm and relax regardless of what I had going. I also felt time move very slowly, not due to boredom. It actually felt like I was using each moment to the fullest.

For the past month, for whatever reason, I decided to experiment with more red light. I did 10 minutes per day minimum for a few weeks. I would do 10 minutes on my abdomen and 5 minutes on my thyroid every other day. The in between days I would do 10 minutes on some other body part, testicles, head, etc. This is when I started to notice problems.

I would get a very high heart rate that would last the entire day. Resting heart rate would be 100+ beats per minute sitting down, and I would be very anxious, unable to focus, and unable to sleep at 10 pm even though I would do my red light session at 9 am. This problem has not gone away on its own. I do notice some slight improvement, but the process of returning to normal feels glacial.

My body temp has been 98.6 F since October 2020. Prior to this my heart rate was around 80 beats per minute.

Now, my questions is for those who have experienced overdosing on red light, what did you do to recover from it? And what did you that made you feel like you had accelerated the process of recovering?

I know there are some posts on the forum about this, such as this one for example. But I haven't found them very useful. Any advice would be highly appreciated.

Thank you.

miquelangeles

What kind of bulb and wattage did you use? LED or incandescent? And how close to the body?

OP
M

meeka