Orange Skin

A. squamosa

Hey,

So when I ate one carrot salad a day (one grated and rinsed carrot, coconut oil, apple cider vinegar) after a couple of months the skin of my face started going orange. Left it, tried it again, still happened. And then a third time after that it happened!

I understand that my liver isn't processing the beta-carotene properly, but I just don't understand why.
I have egg, cheese, milk and gelatin everyday, and meat or seafood a few times a week. I drink alcohol very irregularly. I have plenty of sugar. I certainly don't have a perfect diet (don't have the $$ or time - I'm a full-time student who works), but I do have a lot of good stuff in there.

So what's going on? Any ideas?

tara

Possibilities:
Low in vit-B12?
Lowish thyroid function?
Have you had a go at measuring your body temps and resting heart rate for DIY thyroid function data (make sure to leave thermometer in for several minutes to let it stabilise)?

OP
A. squamosa

A. squamosa

I don't know how to measure for B12, but I do allow my bare skin to see the sun relatively frequently. I definitely have lowish thyroid function, and I would say it got much better when I dropped grains for three months, but tbh that's too difficult to maintain with my lifestyle at current (study/work) - because grains are filling and cheap*, basically.

*edit: and quick!

Richiebogie

Grains are cheap but OJ, bananas and desiccated coconut are ok priced and provide good fruit sugar and saturated fat calories to replace the grains. Blend them together for a tasty drink.

Meanwhile try halving your carrot component.

tara

I think Peat has said low thyroid function can make it harder to convert the carotene to the useful vit-A. IIUC, B12 is also needed for this conversion.
It's possible that addressing the lowish thyroid function might make a difference to that and other things. In the meantime, I guess it's down to not overdoing the orange veges, including carrots.