Noticeable Drop in IQ, Feel Disabled. Reversible?

animalcule

Ever since I was 18, I noticed my cognitive abilities begin to fade, little by little. I was never a genius, but I was a straight A student in one of those advanced tracks, and I scored highly on my SATs (not great measures of intelligence, sure, but the point is I wasn't as stupid as I am now). First it was my memory, it just didn't seem as sharp. I began to struggle in college math classes, but I figured, "I'm no math whiz, maybe I've just hit my limit." Then my ability to learn even the basics of new languages, which I used to be pretty good at, completely evaporated - I couldn't get anything to stick in my brain. This was when I was 21. I chalked it up to depression (depressed since childhood) and anxiety (always anxious, but it really took off in college). Years went by, during which time I lived in a state of near-perpetual high-stress due to job insecurity, toxic living environment (possible CPTSD), and frayed ability to establish and maintain social contacts. Learned helplessness took over, and I found communicating with people in person (always a struggle, but at least I had a running dialogue in my head, even if I was too anxious to verbalize it) became nearly impossible. I noticed that I had lost the internal dialogue - nothing there. I started getting migraines, and even now, with no migraine presently, I still feel as though I'm walking around with a brick in my head, preventing me from thinking any thoughts at all. I used to journal and write stories - I can't do that anymore -- no energy, creative impulse, or ability to concentrate. I used to have a larger vocabulary that I could draw from easily - now I struggle to come up with any good words to describe anything. The decline in the quality of my thoughts, vocabulary, and writing ability from when I was a teenager to now is shocking and dismaying.