Not Consumed Sugar In 20 Months / Discovered Peat

DannyIrons™

So I'm quite new to Peat's work and was wondering if anyone could just point me in the direction to how to approach getting started on Peat's recommendations so to speak. I've posted once before about my weight but didn't really taking notice of any of Peat's work.

In order of main issues;

1. - Sleep (non-restful highly dreamy sleep since a young boy)
2. - Gut issues
3. - Weight Loss

So about 20 months ago my stool test results revealed an extremely high proliferation of something called Enterobacter Cloacae Complex, I also found low lactobaccilus levels and butyrate acid.

I was given a specific protocol, and this basically consisted of eliminating all forms of sugar as dysbiotic feeds off this, apparently. Well, I probably lost around 2 stone in the space of a couple of months. Up until now I'm still 'sugar-free' and managed to have gained around half a stone even on my restricted diet.

To be honest, it's been so ingrained in me that sugar is bad and is going to give me stomach problems that I have developed a fear of consuming anything with high sugar, especially white granulated sugar. But reading the content on this site it seems that I may have had it wrong all along. What do I do?

SOMO

Go slow while reintroducing sugar.

I was in a similar boat to you - I avoided all carbohydrates for a long time, sugar, starch and even fruit.

I felt fine for a long time and could have continued eating low-carb for the rest of my life. I don't think it's that difficult to maintain a low-carb diet, but I simply wanted to reintroduce more foods into my diet.

I was on Keto several years ago, felt good and then eventually transitioned to a more carb-forgiving Paleo/Primal diet with sweet potatoes, plenty of veggies, plenty of avocados, and lots of whole fat dairy (greek yogurt, sour cream, etc.)