Newbie here

Donmar

Hi,
I have been reading these posts for a some time now and am very intrigued and yet confused as to what to eat. I see that some people only eat fruit, some eat fruit and dairy and still others include other proteins as well. I am just confused as to where to start. I have tried to just eat fruit and dairy for a couple of days. I also included coffee w/that. But my cravings for junk food just take over and then I am out of control and eat everything under the sun and then feel horrible.

I also have hashimotos, like many here, I am only on 1/4 grain of armour. I have felt depressed, lelthargic and much brain fog for most of my life, and yet no doctors help. Am overwhelmed as to where to start and what would be the best start for me.

Anything that anyone could suggest would be greatly appreciated. I did just yesterday order wp throid.

Thanks,
Donna

4peatssake

:welcome Donmar

I experience intense cravings only when I don't eat enough sugar. I don't mean white sugar, but enough sugar for my body to function optimally.

My sources of sugar are from OJ, ripe fruit, milk, white sugar in coffee (hot) and milk coffee (iced), honey, Mexican coke

Protein sources for me include gelatin, eggs, milk, steak, calf liver, shellfish, chicken (occasionally)

Fat from coconut oil (primary source) small amounts of butter and olive oil.

Salt food to taste

I use Cronometer to record my nutrient intake, particularly when I'm having issues.

Protein should be at least 80 grams per day - up to 150 grams depending on your personal requirements.

It takes time to figure out what works best for each individual as there is a lot to learn and unlearn but it's been well worth it for me to say the least. :)

If you post what you are currently eating, that can give us a better idea of what could be causing your cravings.

Good luck!

OP
D

Donmar

Thank you for the good info. For the last 4 days my eating has looked liked this...