New to Dr. Peat's work - application to NF1?

Lori86314

What's your age? 39

How did you find the forum? After finding Dr. Peat's website, I Googled to see if Dr. Peat has written anything on neurofibromatosis.

How did you find Ray Peat's work? Researching dopamine in relation to cognitive issues in children with neurofibromatosis type 1.

How long have you been Peating? Haven't yet. Just starting to learn about it.

I am a mom of an awesome 5 year old boy with neurofibromatosis type 1 (NF1). I have been researching his condition on the internet for almost 4 years now. I found Dr. Peat's work while researching the relationship between low dopamine levels and cognitive/behavioral issues in NF1 kids (and trying to find alternatives to the drugs the doctors try to push for anything that even resembles ADHD). I was fascinated to read his articles on natural progesterone and cancer. Coincidentally, I had been poking around in that area for a bit after reading the 2012 study about progesterone receptors found in NF tumors. Studies of PR+/ER- lung and breast cancer cells and progesterone (or at least anti-estrogen therapy) were particularly interesting. However, I found it so frustrating to find so many articles that seemed to show opposite results (and the lack of differentiating between natural progesterone and its synthetic version). Dr. Peat's articles explained the profit-motivated discrepancies and it makes sense now.

I am interested in finding out whether natural progesterone may be beneficial for NF-1. Has anyone applied Dr. Peat's work on cancer to NF-1 (or at least come up with any theories)?

Blossom

Forum Supporter
Welcome Lori, I don't have an answer for you personally but wanted to give you a warm welcome anyway! I'm sure other forum members will reply with any info they might have on the topic. :D

charlie

Admin
The Law & Order Admin
Lori, :welcome

aguilaroja