new, need help single mom: thyroid and progest-e

sunmountain

Newbie here. Recently started progest-e 3 drops at bedtime. Menopausal at 50. Eat healthy.

Diagnosed hypothyroid (euthyroidic) about 6-8 months ago, took levothyroxine 25mcg for a few months, then tapered off and was fine with the help of homeopathics for 3-4 months.

Arthritis/joint and muscle pain never went away even while on levothyroxine. Fatigue did go away.

Started progest-e a week ago. Hypo symptoms are back...fatigue, arthritis is worse.

Going to get thyroid lab work done today.

Started back on levothyroxine 25mcg today. Read about cytomel. Can I combine it with Levothyroxine?

I thought the progest-e would keep the thyroid running or improve it -- that's what I read somewhere.

Should I be doing the high initial dose? Or should I first improve thyroid and fatigue?

Thanks for any help!

OP
sunmountain

sunmountain

The problem is that I have no time to be sick due to work and single parenting. Is there anything that can help me function short-term, while I start work on long term health?

cbar09

Just a quick thought, you might need to increase your nutrients and/or calorie intake (esp. protein and sugar) if you are taking progest-e and thyroid.

Cholesterol (increased by fructose or table sugar) and vitamin A are needed to produce the steroid hormones along with thyroid. RP recommends raising low cholesterol before starting thyroid meds I believe. Could be as simple as having something like warm milk with honey before bedtime when you take the progest-e.

How is your sleep during this time?

aguilaroja

sunmountain said:
...Menopausal at 50. Eat healthy.

Diagnosed hypothyroid (euthyroidic) about 6-8 months ago, took levothyroxine 25mcg for a few months, then tapered off and was fine with the help of homeopathics for 3-4 months.

Arthritis/joint and muscle pain never went away even while on levothyroxine. Fatigue did go away.