Motivation And Art Therapy

lindsay

This might seem like a weird post, and I may not have categorized it correctly, but here goes anyhow.

Some of you may remember me from the Peatarian site, as well as here, but I disappeared for about a year because I decided that hyper-focusing on my health problems (which were many and which I am still working through, but which have gotten better) was making me depressed. Instead of doing things, I spent all my free time looking up stuff on the internet and spending way too much of my free time inside on my computer.

So in 2015, I decided to start a daily photography project (I work part-time as a photographer). I joined a community of photo enthusiasts and every day I had a prompt which I used to create a photo. It turned out to be this amazing journey that pushed my photography and skills and also a place where I met new friends, who I hope to keep in contact with for many many years.

In many respects, I never felt better than during that year. It boosted my confidence, kept my brain active, unleashed creative potential I never knew - it was amazing and I fell back in love with my camera and the art of photography. But then my life got busier, I had more work, and as I took better photos everyday, it became this expectation (which I put on myself) that I could create a brilliant image every day - and I got very stressed about it and very tired and when the year came to an end, I said goodbye to my project joyfully and decided I would embark on photography on my own when I choose......