Moldy Home Woes

Preface: I know it's a long one so if you're not interested in reading the whole story skip to the bottom.

I've been combating mold now for about three months now. It all began around March when temperatures began to rise necessitating the use of air conditioning. I didn't notice anything for a while except my dog started behaving differently.

First, he began refusing food. Then, he became increasingly lethargic, laying around while breathing rapidly but shallowly. Finally, he started to refuse even water. This all happened within the course of a week. I was afraid he would certainly die so I took him to a family member's house. There he ate (his usual food) and drank to capacity. Within a couple of days he was his old self. I left him there and returned home.

Upon entering my house again it hit me. Lingering in the air was an unpleasant musty smell. The previous homeowner advised me to pour bleach in the AC drip pan every 2 weeks which I had forgotten to do since I reactivated the system. I thought bleach would solve the issue pretty quickly, and it did, but only temporarily. The next day the odor was back, albeit faintly.

I carried on thinking little of it. I assumed since the house has a pier and beam foundation with a persistently damp crawlspace that the odor was simply due to the nature of the house. I still was uncertain why my dog began acting seemingly suicidal so quickly. I chalked it up to him missing my family member's dog and my family member place the blame on ghosts since weird things have happened in the house at night that my dog has reacted to. Then after a few more weeks it really struck me.