Attachments

• MISCONCEPTIONS ABOUT NUTRITION Voice of America 2013.pdf
    97.3 KB · Views: 137
  • MISCONCEPTIONS ABOUT NUTRITION Voice of America 2013.docx
    32 KB · Views: 88
OP
burtlancast

burtlancast

Here's the full text, so it becomes searchable through Dan's search engine.

Raymond Peat, Ph.D.
WATER/ MISCONCEPTIONS ABOUT NUTRITION
2013, VoiceAmerica with Sharon Kleyne

Sharon Kleyne: Can you present yourself ?

Peat: I didnʼt actually start professional biology study until 1968 at the university, I studied there four years in physiology and biochemistry. Before that around 1950 I had heard about Albert Szent-Gyorgi and the lectures - he went around the country doing demonstrations of living tissue and the state of water inside muscles for example. And he could show that the condition of the water as it effected molecules changed instantaneously when a muscle was stimulated or when a nerve was activated. I looked around to see who else was working on that kind of thing and it was utterly neglected by the professional biologists. He happened to have got interested in this line of thinking many years earlier, got his nobel prize working on vitamin C, but his real interest was in how the state of water changes between life and death and different states of energy production So I had that in mind all through the 60s and I taught a biology course in ohio at a little college, and while I was working there, Linus Pauling did some research that lined up with Szent-Gyorgi and he proposed that anesthetics work by altering the state of water in cells. I looked around again and saw that chemical community was ignoring Pauling, even though he had a nobel prize, and these two people were outstanding for their interest in how water lets organisms work. After several years, I decided that despite the established academic science culture lacking any interest in what I wanted to study, I had enough experience with the universities to go through them, and use their instrume