Middle Of The Night Awakening

natalie

Hi all!

This is my first time posting here, and I am also new to Peat's stuff, but it seems like many of you have/do suffer from similar issues - so I thought I would give it a try.

Basically, I have a long history of an eating disorder. I went from anorexia to binge eating disorder, and cycled between restriction/starvation and overeating for many years. Fortunately, I found someone who helped me get over the mental part of it, so that I could develop a normal relationship with food, and my body and mind began to heal.

-constipation cured
-less PMS
-better skin
-fuller hair
-more stable mood

The changes have been gradual, but I am grateful for them. They really opened my eyes to how healing eating ENOUGH food is and how absolutely terrible and damaging underrating/dieting can be.

At this point, I feel pretty healthy. However, I still suffer some issues that I am hoping to get some light on. My main issue is that I have daily nighttime awakenings. I wake up once or twice a night (used to be way more when I was doing lots of cardio), and need to eat something to get back to bed. I have learned to put up with this but my sleep is never really deep and restful because of these surges (adrenaline, I think). However, even with this, my energy is actually awesome during the day. My hunger is okay- I don't really feel very hungry but I push myself to have two big meals a day and a snack in between. I tend to get really hungry for dinner but don't really feel it up until then.