Memory, Cognition & Nutrition KMUD - Ask Your Herb Doctor

moss

Transcribed by moss 11 December 2014
Verified by Sheila 14 December 2014 (special thanks)

Memory, Cognition & Nutrition
KMUD - Ask Your Herb Doctor – (2014)

HD – Andrew Murray
RP – Ray Peat Ph.D

HD: Hi - Dr Peat - you with us?

RP: Hi.

HD: OK, I just want to begin tonight’s show, as always, just by asking you to give us a synopsis of your academic and professional background so that when people hear you, not only will they hear that you know what you are saying, but they will also know that you have had a long time doing what you do. So go ahead and just let us know what it is you have done for the last 40 years of life.

RP: Oh well, in the last 40 years, I have just been studying independently by myself. But before that, in 1968 to ‘72, I was a graduate student in biology at the University of Oregon, for a PhD in biology, specializing in physiology. Before that in the 50s - ‘56 to the end of the decade, I was working on a Masters degree at University of Oregon and during that time I took courses and lessons in philosophy and psychology among other things, and also from ‘59 to ‘60 I took some philosophy courses at Ohio State University. The phone is clicking. Is the line still there? Are you still there?

HD: Yes. I can hear you. We are here. So you basically started with philosophy, psychology and I know that your main interests - and there are many - but your main interests are hormones, physiology, reproductive biology, aging and that kind of subjects.

RP: Yeah. The reason I decided to study biology was that I didn’t think people were working on consciousness in the right way. I thought I could get at it biologically.