Meditation For Anxiety?

TurtleNeck

Is mediatation good for anxiety? I hear good and bad things about it. What do you guys think is it very peat?

Brian

I'm by no means an expert meditator, so take my opinion with a grain of salt. For the most part I think meditation and other mind-body connection training practices won't have a very significant effect on anxiety and other states of distress if the root cause is mostly hormone, metabolism or neurotransmitter related. I see it more as a possible synergistic and complementary practice to an otherwise pro-metabolic lifestyle and diet to strengthen a mental perception of safety, which can potentially have significant positive feedback to metabolic health.

My view on meditation is that it can help train the body to more reliably stay in a parasympathetic state and become less sensitive to the perception of imaginary threats, while becoming more focused on sense perception in the present and less impulse reactivity to ones automatic thoughts. Rather gaining a relationship with one's stream of thoughts and feelings as a friendly companion whose input can be taken non-literally as a hint to the state of one's physical and psychological needs that could use more attention.