Masks And CO2

DennisX

If you want to increase your CO2 simply wear a mask. Del Bigtree in the latest Highwire YouTube video measured the CO2 concentrations for various Covid-19 masks. All masks measured concentrations of 9000+ ppm after a few minutes. Normal concentrations without a mask are around 800 ppm. Wear a mask long enough, like for hours while walking and shouting or exercising and you can do some real damage to yourself.

Last edited:

Jordan

I'm a nurse and have to wear an N95 mask for most of the day. While wearing mine for a few hours, my CO2 level was tested and came back within normal limits. I'm wondering if it is a good or bad sign if the body normalizes CO2 levels while wearing a respirator?

Lollipop2

I'm a nurse and have to wear an N95 mask for most of the day. While wearing mine for a few hours, my CO2 level was tested and came back within normal limits. I'm wondering if it is a good or bad sign if the body normalizes CO2 levels while wearing a respirator?
@Blossom do you know?

Estradiol

Wearing a basic mask decreased my heart when doing a physical activity for example going uphill. Probably because of CO2.

Blossom

Forum Supporter
I think it’s good that the lungs are compensating but I still think it can be stressful for hours on end. Haidut mentioned something in regards to mask wearing about the lungs not breaking down serotonin effectively. They also seem to impact NO. I’ll try to find his quote. There’s also the issue of contamination from not being able to change masks frequently due to the PPE shortage. I had my first full blown asthmatic experience from wearing a mask for close to 60 hours in a 5 days period a couple weeks ago.

Blossom

Forum Supporter