List Of RPF Members Who Have Worked In Health, Medicine, And Science

Waynish

Not sure if this is the right forum for this, but it would be cool to have a list of various people's health, medical, and science experience on here.

So, who has worked in health, medicine, or science - and what did you do?

I'll start: worked 3y in molecular biology lab.

Peatful

I worked 25 years in physical rehabilitation as a clinician.

Mathematician

I am a mathematician (a mathematical physicist to be specific) and I have a tenured appointment at a research university in the USA.

haidut

Forum Supporter
I worked as a bioinformatics researcher at The National Biomedical Research Foundation (NBRF), which got subsequently folded under the Protein Information Resource (PIR). The PIR organization does a lot of work with NIH and various other facilities around the world and especially in Switzerland. PIR produces and maintained the following resources.
Welcome to PIR [Protein Information Resource]
UniProt
iPTMnet

I have personally coded a good portion of the algorithms behind UniProt and PIRSF above.
About 90% of the PIR staff is people with Ph.D. (or higher) in biochemistry, medicine (MD), physics, and bioinformatics. I worked there from 2002 to 2005 and collaborated with many of those people. This is what started my initial interest in biochemistry and what gave me my initial knowledge of all things related to physiology and human health. I attended all the seminars these people held or attended themselves and helped them with their research as well. Since them it has been reading a variety of medical literature, classes, and volunteering in hospital, as well as contracting labs to perform experiments I am interested in.
So, not sure if this qualifies as medical/scientific experience but it is my background. Oh, my academic training is in Computer Science hence the bioinformatics job I got when I graduates from college.

Makrosky