Limiting The Effects Of Endurance Exercise

SolidSteele

Just thought I'd run an idea through you guys to see if this makes sense.

I'm a fitness coach and as such I have to deal with a lot of people that use endurance exercise (i.e. running, cycling, etc) as a fitness metric. I do my best to educate people on the effects of endurance exercise but there are those whose beliefs are so engrained that they simply won't listen and then there are those just love it and will never give it up no matter the downsides.

My current understanding is that endurance exercise depletes muscle glycogen then liver glycogen so that the body releases cortisol and adrenaline to mobilise FFA and breakdown muscle tissues. Also if the intensity is to high it promotes glycolysis leading to excessive amounts of lactate. If that's not correct feel free to correct me.

My question is: if you were to limit the intensity (using heart rate, nose-only breathing, wattage limits, etc.) so that the intensity is low enough to be aerobic and incorporated taurine to improve liver glycogen and use a fuel like OJ with bi-carb soda or glucose gels during training session to try and stop blood sugar dropping too low, would that mitigate some of the negative effects of endurance exercise?

Any thoughts.

M

marikay

Just thought I'd run an idea through you guys to see if this makes sense.

I'm a fitness coach and as such I have to deal with a lot of people that use endurance exercise (i.e. running, cycling, etc) as a fitness metric. I do my best to educate people on the effects of endurance exercise but there are those whose beliefs are so engrained that they simply won't listen and then there are those just love it and will never give it up no matter the downsides.