Light Spotting During Ovulation After Using Progesterone

Francesca123

24 Female
Cycle length 27-28 days and my period usually last 5-6 days with some cramps on day 1 but otherwise my periods are fine

February cycle: I experienced mid-cycle spotting on day 12 after having used progesterone during my follicular phase. I normally only use progesterone during my luteal phase so thought I may have messed my hormones up a bit. My period came as normal but my cycle was only 25 days which has never happened to me before.

March cycle: I decided not to take any progesterone and experienced no spotting and my cycle lasted 26 days.

Current cycle: Took no progesterone during follicular phase but used some last night after noticing a few days of fertile cervical mucous. This morning I had a streak of pink blood in my cervical mucous. I am on cycle day 14.

Few last points:
I have been using Progest-e for 2 years on and off with no problems
I have only experienced spotting around my ovulation days.
I have only experienced spotting 3 times in my life, 1 like 4 years ago and the other 2 recently.

I read this online:
In women with cystic ovaries, progesterone in small doses can be converted to estrogen because the cyst is stuck in the follicular phase. This causes spotting or sore breasts. If this happens with a small dose of progesterone, it's a sign of cystic ovaries.

I hope I don't have cystic ovaries and don't have any other symptoms of them.

Has anyone ever had this happen to them or could explain what is happening?

Thank you

Lotte

Spotting is a normal sign of ovulation caused by a slight estrogen withdrawal. You might have experianced spotting because the progesterone you took in folllicular phase opposed estrogen and therefore enhanced the estrogen withdrawal before ovulation. Mid-cycle spotting has nothing to do with ovarian cysts.

OP
F

Francesca123