Leucomethylene Blue For Covid And Other Respiratory Infections — Regular Oxidized M.B. Is Dangerous

R J

Hope the title got your attention. I’m not making the claim, the authors of this paper are (in context of acute and very serious infection):

The Application of a Reduced Dye Used in Orthopedics as a Novel Treatment against Coronavirus (COVID-19): A Suggested Therapeutic Protocol

These researchers suggest an IV cocktail of the clear leucomethylene blue reduced by vitamin C, as well as urea (the reason they include it is interesting), and a glutathione supportive antioxidant like NAC or lipoic acid. They are quite clear about why NOT to use regular oxidized M.B.:

Key Points
1. Never ever use Methylene blue (the oxidized form) for treatment of COVID-19, since it increases oxidative stress and consequently inflammation.

2. The reduced form of methylene blue (Leucomethylene) should be used for treatment.

So I’m not an expert on antioxidant/oxidants, but it seems like regular M.B. can be risky in status of high inflammation like cytokine storm with acute infection. Damaged / dead cells don’t reduce M.B. to leucomethylene blue and in a state of high oxidative stress the extra burden of using the oxidized M.B. form can be a bad idea.

This seems to fit with my experience. When I gave someone high doses of M.B. when dealing with tail end of respiratory infection, it noticeably increased their congestion and discomfort. I think this had something to do with increased oxidative stress in an already high inflammation state, and some sort of serotonin cascade as a result.

The above paper advocating Leucomethylene blue contrasts the reccomendation of this doctor Treatment for COVID-19 using Methylene Blue , who advocates regular MB nebulization for covid prevention and post treatment.