KMUD Herb Doctors: Inflammation (Jan 2011)

moss

Transcribed by moss Dec 14
Verified by Sheila

KMUD Herb Doctors: Inflammation (Jan 2011)
HD - Andrew Murray & Sarah Johannesen Murray
RP - Dr Ray Peat PH.D
RE - Radio Engineer

HD: Good evening, Dr Peat and thank you so much for joining us this evening and Happy New Year.

RP: Oh, yeah.

HD: Thanks so much for joining us. As always, for folks who’ve not listened to our show before, let alone perhaps heard you on the show, will you perhaps go over your academic and professional career?

RP: I was a student and teacher in the humanities for about 10 or 15 years before I studied in graduate school, biology, basically nerve biology and reproductive biology and I taught a few courses in biochemistry and immunology and other things.

HD: OK. I know that you’ve extensively written papers, fully referenced papers on many different topics ­‐ and I know that a lot of the programs that you’ve joined us on have really been a broad range of separate subjects but interrelated in many different ways, and I know the topic for tonight’s discussion is the role of inflammation on the human body, what inflammation does and how is it generated, how you can do something about it? But perhaps people that are listening -­ would you just briefly discuss what you think we all understand when we hear the word ‘inflammation’ and then we’ll go over the broad view of inflammation in a newer thinking. It’s actually, the thinking, is fairly old, but it’s been brought up by contemporary doctors, so what do you think people first understand when they hear inflammation? How do we understand it?