Is This Weight Loss Plan OK?

anniejohnson

I've been limiting PUFA for about 10 years. Not as crazy low as some of you. I still eat eggs and some chicken. Occasionally I eat out.

I'm a little overweight. Various factors were at play. But I assume most of my excess fat is saturated.

How does this eating plan seem to you?

Daily:

1 gallon fat free milk
1 quart orange juice
1 boiled egg
1 tsp coconut oil
1 ounce salted cheese

weekly: beef liver, canned smoked oysters

Occasional: coca cola

Exercise: compound kettlebell exercises five days a week. Nothing too strenuous. Not doing more than 5 reps a set. Just doing a set here and there throughout the day. Mainly get ups, clean and press, farmers carry, etc. No swings.

The diet likely gives me a caloric deficit, but not an excessive one. I am 5'9", 200 lbs, male.

My interest is losing fat and preserving muscle. This diet was designed based on studies I read online. Some of the studies claim that participants lost fat and gained muscle while exercising in a prolonged caloric deficit.

I am familiar with the Minnesota starvation experiment. Hopefully the large amount of vitamins, minerals, proteins, etc. in my diet will offset any bad effects.

I haven't read as extensively on this forum as I would like to yet.

It is my impression that people here are not fond of caloric deficits a la the currently popular CICO diet. Is that the case?

I also think I read of someone (TCA300) who may have had bad effects from a very low fat diet. I couldn't quite tell what happened in that case.

Do you all think it is dangerous to eat a low fat diet like I am? I am putting the cheese, egg, and oil in the diet because I am worried about possible bad effects from such a diet.

For many years, I ate a very high fat diet (coconut oil and butter).

Thank you.

YourUniverse

Your diet covers all the basics and is the fundamental one most people base their eating around.