Is This Product Alright In Terms Of Wavelength Etc

flod

I'm a newb when it comes to red-light therapy and am in the UK so I think we're a bit more limited on infrared products.

I can't post links, but I found a product called the "Beurer IL 50 infrared heat lamp" which has some decent reviews for £54 ($69). It's 300 watts, which is more powerful than most I've seen, consisting of a halogen bulb behind an infrared panel.

In the product answers there seems to be some mixed opinions regarding the wavelength, the most specific answer seems to be it has wavelength of 1250nm, which is still considered near-infra-red but is towards the end of the window.

But here are the 3 answers I've found re: wavelength:

"I can confirm that this is a near infrared with 1250nm wavelength."

"I can confirm that the wavelength is 500-2500mn Near infrared."

"It does not specify the wavelengths used. The Beurer website states that the Infra Red is IR-A and IR-B which suggests as follows. It is probably does not cover this entire range but these are the wavelengths of the two forms of Infra Red light emitted by this device. That is as close as I can get with the information available.
• IR-A: 700 nm – 1400 nm (0.7 µm – 1.4 µm)
• IR-B: 1400 nm – 3000 nm (1.4 µm – 3 µm)"

I've read on the joov website that the ideal wavelength is somewhere in around 800 and something nm, but the joov product is much more expensive and way outside my price range, but this product from Beurer is affordable.

Do you think it would it be a worthwhile investment?

Juniperus

It's hard to tell since the manufacturer does not supply a spectral distribution chart for the lamp. For the wattage I find it rather expensive. I would go for regular 250W red heat lamps which are much cheaper. They only cost around £10 each. I am new member as well and can't post any links, but try searching ebay for "250 w red heat lamp" and you will find a lot of places to purchase from.

Miltron