Is Killing Off Mouth Bacteria Beneficial For Long Term Dental Health?

BearWithMe

According to this study, mouthwash users seems to have worse dental health than non-users, but obviously correlation does not imply causation.

Do you think that killing off mouth bacteria is beneficial for long term dental health?

Last edited:

Peater Piper

I've been using listerine daily for over 15 years and my oral health is pretty good. I did struggle with canker sores (even before the listerine), but swishing with a little bit of baking soda after the listerine seemed to fix that. On rare occasions I may have a sensitive tooth, though I find this is often due to overaggressive brushing and flossing. No cavities during this time.

I do think for someone with good mouth flora, it's probably better not to nuke everything on a daily basis. Xylitol can be used to push the flora in a positive direction, and I had good results with it for a time but seemed to develop a sensitivity to it, so I went back to listerine.

OP
BearWithMe

BearWithMe

Peater Piper: Wow, 15 years without cavity, that's quite a achievement! What do you think is the most important factor in your impressive oral health?

I''m very happy you have such a great results. Great oral care pays off it seems :):

Peater Piper