Is It Possible To Regenerate Herniated Spinal Disc ?

ruprmurdoch

I saw on youtube kind of lecture by chiropractor John Bergman, where he is talking that spinal disc can regenerate but it takes 14 months. Is it possible ? I have herniated disc on l5/s1 level, I would like to see any studies that confirm this information about regeneration.

tara

Experts I saw said, IIRC:
- Most often they heal within 2 years.
- Keeping active helps, even if that means taking some pain relief to make it possible.
- So does avoiding the most damaging positions and movements.
- Interestingly, full disc prolapse often resolves more quickly.
- The disc may not be the same after.
- There are exercises that can help for some people, but not all cases.

bluefish

I herniated a discs in my neck. I was working w a phy therapist/trainer who was amazing, and now doing kinda random neck related feldenkrais method sessions I find on YouTube or elsewhere.

I’m new to this type of injury. I’m not able to workout and I get migraines sometime etc.

Are people saying the body can recover and heal or what’s the deal. Thanks.

I also ripped a small amount of cartilage in my shoulder. Lol. I guess that doesn’t heal.

belcanto

I herniated a discs in my neck. I was working w a phy therapist/trainer who was amazing, and now doing kinda random neck related feldenkrais method sessions I find on YouTube or elsewhere.

I’m new to this type of injury. I’m not able to workout and I get migraines sometime etc.

Are people saying the body can recover and heal or what’s the deal. Thanks.

I also ripped a small amount of cartilage in my shoulder. Lol. I guess that doesn’t heal.