Intense Craving For Red Meat. But I've Never Had It In My Life

lampofred

I've been Peat-ing for a few months now and have seen many changes. Recently, I've been starting get these intense cravings for red meat. I've been a vegetarian my entire life (20 years), so I don't know how it's even possible for me to crave something I've never had. I smell it when my roommates are using the grill or barbecue, so maybe that's what my brain is going off of? Anyway, I was wondering if anyone had a Peat-style explanation for this... I tried Googling cravings in general and the only answer I found was that red meat cravings are due to an iron deficiency, but that doesn't make sense because I eat beans and cereal with iron.

The thought of perfectly seasoned pork chops and barbecued ribs is making my mouth water beyond belief, and I'm trying to figure out the nutritional reason for this...

D

Derek

I've been Peat-ing for a few months now and have seen many changes. Recently, I've been starting get these intense cravings for red meat. I've been a vegetarian my entire life (20 years), so I don't know how it's even possible for me to crave something I've never had. I smell it when my roommates are using the grill or barbecue, so maybe that's what my brain is going off of? Anyway, I was wondering if anyone had a Peat-style explanation for this... I tried Googling cravings in general and the only answer I found was that red meat cravings are due to an iron deficiency, but that doesn't make sense because I eat beans and cereal with iron.

The thought of perfectly seasoned pork chops and barbecued ribs is making my mouth water beyond belief, and I'm trying to figure out the nutritional reason for this...

Zinc. High amounts of calcium and sugar use up all of your zinc reserves.

FredSonoma