In ME/CFS the cells resemble state that of after strong exertion even in absence of exertion, ME/CFS immunometabolic theory of starved cells

Explorer

Apparently in ME/CFS the cells are in a state which in healthy people only occurs after intense exertion

Due to cellular stress they are depleted of energy so start eating up whatever they can find

freyasam

Thanks for posting this. This is what ME/CFS feels like to me: my body is under extreme metabolic stress and is consuming everything in order to survive. Sweeping a small floor for 2 minutes --> I feel like I'm about to collapse. I get hungry quickly and need carbs frequently, which made me fat in a short amount of time after getting ME/CFS.

I really wish Ray would speak more to what he thinks is happening with ME/CFS. I've been eating according to his principles for almost 8 years, and though it has helped somewhat, I am still disabled from this illness. And obese, because my body seems to need a lot of fuel to extract a little energy, then stores what it can't use as fat.

The part about amino acids is interesting. My body seems to require above average amounts of certain amino acids, because symptoms / post-exertional malaise get worse when I stop taking powdered gelatin.

I feel like my body has never been able to "switch" to burn fuel optimally. But unlike the article's suggestion to go keto, that was the diet that "turned off" my ability to burn carbs efficiently when I did it for a year in 2010 - 2011. Peating has helped a little but my cells can't seem to get sugar into the place where they use it efficiently.

In a recent interview, Chris Armstrong, the leader of the OMF funded Australia said the dirty fuel scenario- the cells of ME/CFS patients have turned to a dirty fuel (amino acids) to power them – was holding up.