I'm a Scientist, and I Don't Believe in Facts

Jam

:rolling

The only sensible takeaway from that is that today's truths can become tommorow's fabrications.

e.g. "The COVID vaccines are safe" may be an accepeted "truth" right now, but may be notorious bull**** in 5 years. :rolleyes:

AlaskaJono

Hello Effin' scientists journal- What a load of Codswallop. "Science" is not science anymore because of a failure to follow protocol, and make experiments based on observations that are repeatable. The entire process has become so twisted and infiltrated by greed and favouritism. This article also illustrates how language and definitions have become watered down in the last 50 years. "1984" anyone?

PxD

I think I understand what she was trying to say - understanding of Truth evolves over time as we make new discoveries - but she expressed the idea really poorly in that article. She almost sounds like a “truth is relative” postmodernist.

IROM

"Americans believe in facts but not in facticity. They do not know that facts are factitious, as their name suggests... in this belief in facts, in the total credibility of what is done or seen, in this pragmatic evidence of things and an accompanying contempt for what may be called appearances or the play of appearances … nothing deceives, nothing is ambivalent … there are no lies." Jean Baudrillard

IROM

storytelling with science.jpg

K

Kayaker

The only sensible takeaway from that is that today's truths can become tommorow's fabrications.

e.g. "The COVID vaccines are safe" may be an accepeted "truth" right now, but may be notorious bull**** in 5 years. :rolleyes:
They are currently working on "factifying" the safety trial. If enough vaxxed people die in 5 years, there may be a large divide between "fact" and observed reality.

tankasnowgod

Good artile goes back a few years now. She mentions memory. 3 times this week I’ve heard false memory discussed on main stream media. I’m listening carefully and trying to figure out why.