If low fat diets increase PUFA release...

DKayJoe

Hi, sorry if this question seems dumb, I'm fairly new to this...

I have been reading up on the studies on diets that increase the release of PUFAS from the body e.g low/almost no fat ones.

My question is if you adopted this sort of diet and the release of PUFAS did indeed increase, would that result in a temporary increase in the damage done by PUFAS within the body due to the increase of release until your PUFA stores became drained?

And if so would an increase in Vitamin E be advisable until the release of PUFAS died down?

nikotrope

There has been a few threads with studies about that recently. Yes low fat would release PUFA but after a few days it should be less harmful and the long term huge benefit is to be PUFA depleted. Vitamin E is important, but things like aspirin, niacinamide, coconut oil and caffeine are protective too.

Here's on of the study : viewtopic.php?f=75&t=5922&p=71024&hilit=pufa#p70467

Ben

The negative effect of lipolysis isn't just the PUFA just like the negative effect of muscle breakdown isn't just the antimetabolic muscle protein in the blood. Stress hormones are responsible for both occuring. Fat deprivation is a stress, this is why women with PMS or stressed out people crave food with a lot of fat. Don't worry about PUFA depletion, low PUFA is only one little aspect of good health.

tara

DKayJoe said:
My question is if you adopted this sort of diet and the release of PUFAS did indeed increase, would that result in a temporary increase in the damage done by PUFAS within the body due to the increase of release until your PUFA stores became drained?
From my reading of Peat, I think so.
DKayJoe said:
And if so would an increase in Vitamin E be advisable until the release of PUFAS died down?
I think Peat has suggested this.
Also possibly a little coconut oil - you don't have to add much if you are going for low fat - eg 1-3 tsp.