If Burning Fat Is Bad, How Do You Lose Weight?

lvysaur

I'm a newbie to Peat's ideas, but many of them make sense to me.

However, if the release of fatty acids is bad for your body, how can you realistically expect to lose fat? After all, one of the main goals of any diet is to have a lean body, and if that's not possible on a Peat diet, I don't see how I can reconcile the other benefits.

On that point, what does Peat think of exercise? In particular:

- low intensity long duration running (marathonners)
- high intensity short duration running (sprinters)
- low weight high repetition resistance ("bodybuilders")
- and high weight low repetition resistance ("powerlifters")

Blossom

Forum Supporter
This is not your typical weight loss diet at all. Some people lose weight, some maintain and some (gasp) even gain a little. It's more about restoring optimal metabolism which often requires repair work and putting aside the numbers on the scale issue for a while(imo). The idea is that when our metabolism is optimal everything else falls into place. For me that place might be a different weight than the one from when I was unhealthy. Our culture equates thinness with health but really healthy people do come in all shapes and sizes. The number on my scale is different but I'm really enjoying my new feminine curves! I'm pretty sure Peat only recommends concentric exercise and things like yoga but I haven't explored this topic much yet.

charlie

Admin
The Law & Order Admin
Ivysaur, :welcome