Low Toxin Logs Hypervitaminosis A — A Case Study Of Myself

youngsinatra

Hello everyone,

I frequently post in the thread „Grant Generoux Vitamin A Toxicity“. But I decided to start a separate thread to keep a more clean overview.

Background:
I started a pro-metabolic diet around 2 years ago, firstly inspired by Stan Efferding‘s „Vertical Diet“, who quoted Ray Peat on a few occasions in his work.
I incorporated more and more principles of Ray into my diet and lifestyle by focusing on consuming more nutrient-dense foods like whole eggs, ground beef, beef liver, orange juice, cooked mushrooms, raw carrots, salt, calcium and coffee.
I started playing around with a few supplements that were discussed in the forum - like niacinamide, thiamine, magnesium, vitamin D/K2 and then also retinyl palmitate. So I also started reading up on vitamin A on this forum. I found some statements about the A : D ratio and applied that to myself, as I took vitamin D for years beforehand. I usually took like 5000-10000 IU of D3 per day and subsequently I took it in a 1:5 ratio with vitamin A, so I took 25’000-50’000 IU of vitamin A per day.
In the beginning I felt awesome - my libido was perked up, my mind felt calm and amazing and I totally fell in love with retinol. I took this combo for a year roughly.

I started to feel just a bit off after 6 months. My hands and feet became yellow at the slightest amount of beta carotene, but I just cutted out most of my carotene intake, because I thought that was the problem. But even then I continued the supplementation. My blood pressure started kickin up and up, reaching the clear hypertension zone, sometimes up to 180/110. I started to feel a bit dizzy with momentarily lack of coordination, with more frequent headaches, sometimes showing up with worsening yellow hands, occasional liver pains here and there and worsening digestive issues like diarrhea. On top my skin started peeling like crazy and my skin on my hands looked totally nuked.