How Much Calcium Is Too Much Calcium?

Bluebell

According to cronometer I'm getting around 3,000 mg of calcium a day from diet.

I'd like to take an extra 500mg in eggshell calcium to get my calcium:phosphorus ratio up closer to 1.3:1.

Would that be excessive in terms of calcium ingested per day - 3,500 mg?

marcar72

You should be fine. I've been consuming about 3,500 mg/day for over a couple years now and haven't had any known issues. I'd be sure to supplement some K2 though... :2cents

OP
Bluebell

Bluebell

Thanks, I'll go for it then. Looking forward to some miraculous results from improving the cal phos ratio!

Velve921

Dr. Peat mentioned in an interview that there was a tribe in Africa I believe that consumed upto 5000mg a day. I cannot remember specifics but he said the tribe was unbelievably healthy.

DaveFoster

I've been doing 8 grams for a while. 4 grams phosphorous, 8 grams calcium; 1:2 ratio. I think I'll lower it just a bit.

paymanz

Dr. Peat mentioned in an interview that there was a tribe in Africa I believe that consumed upto 5000mg a day. I cannot remember specifics but he said the tribe was unbelievably healthy.
In what form they get that calcium?!

paymanz

And the milk they drink in those rural areas are usually buffaloes milk,which is higher in ca to p ratio(and also total calcium content).And also are higher in taurine/magnesium content!...compared to cows milk.

Giraffe

KMUD: Hair Loss, Inflammation and Osteoporosis (2012)
RP:The Maasai people and other cattle-raising people in eastern African often get 5000mg of calcium a day, for a long period of time.
HD: And this is all from milk?
RP: Yeah. There‘s been a lot of publicity in the last few months about calcium supplements not being very helpful, and the most popular form of calcium supplement medically has been either calcium gluconate or calcium…I guess gluconate is probably the most popular…
HD: Or citrate.