Home Made Yeast Co2 Generator Small Funny

biggirlkisss

quote "i have been using a homade generator for the past 6 months and it works pretty good. my friend has a Co2 PPM meter and I have taken consistant readings at 1200PPM in my tent. what i do is take a 2-gallon bucket with lid and drill 2 holes in the top. i fill the bucket with 1-gallon of water at room temperature, i jar bakers yeast, 2 pounds sugar and 2 tabsp. baking soda then wisk it together. i use grommets for my airhoses to make an air-tight seal. i run 1 air-hose into the solution with an airstone attached to an airpump and the other suspended right below the lid. that one is run to my osclating fan. i have the airpump hooked up to my light timer so the airpump forced the Co2 out when the lights come on. i add about a cup of sugar every 2 weeks to keep the yeast active. although this can be a pain sometimes it works for my current situation. it is a cheap alternative and produces no heat"
If I will to build does anyone know where I go to get the parts?
I'm in apartment and the landlord not going to be happy if it smells. Would yeast extract give a bad odor maybe should i go for a co2 tank and let the co2 out more expensive mind you.

Last edited:

tara

The yeast will have an odour. Whether you like it or not is a matter of taste - I like it now and then, but I think I'd find it overwhelming after a while. It will use up oxygen to make CO2, so it will not have quite the same effect as just adding CO2 to air, as one would with a CO2 tank. I'd expect it to be more like the effect of rebreathing your own used air, which you can probably do more simply by other means without the yeastiness. I think the yeast also produces water in the process, as does human respiration.

Here's what I'd do:
0. Notice and relax your breath whenever you think about it.