High Iron But Transferrin /ferritin Good. Does It Affect Ceruloplasmin?

Motif

Iron is high . Ferritin / transferrin good.

Zinc
Copper
Ceruloplasmin are Low.

Is the high iron a problem or not?

Dave Clark

This site could help you: Iron Tests
I am not an iron expert, but if your TS and ferritin levels are good, you should be okay. Maybe others with more knowledge here can comment. I myself would still think that high serum iron is going to mean more iron to react and make hydroxyl radicals, so I would probably try to get that level down. My preference is IP-6/inositol.

tankasnowgod

Iron is high . Ferritin / transferrin good.

Zinc
Copper
Ceruloplasmin are Low.

Is the high iron a problem or not?

Well, high body iron stores can be problematic. When you say "Iron is high," I don't know what you're referring to. If it's a blood test, I assume you are referring to "Serum Iron," but it could be something else, like hemoglobin, for example.

Best markers for body iron stores are Ferritin and TSAT, which is a calculation. Don't exactly know what you mean by "fine" either, if you're simply going by the lab range, there are discussions on this forum on how those ranges are wide, and not ideal. Lots of people, men in particular, can benefit from keeping ferritin in the lower end of that lab range. Search the forum, you will find this discussed many times.

OP
M

Motif

I'll try to get the exact lab results.

Serum Iron was over the top range.

Ferritin and transferrin pretty much mid range I think.

fradon

Even when ferritin and transferrin are good?

YES its worse when you consume reduced iron which nothing more than metallic iron filings that are cooked into bread, cereial, instant oatmeal and baked goods. the excess iron would kick out zinc and copper.