high calcium intake + baking soda = milk alkali??

janelle

Has anyone heard that having a high calcium intake along with baking soda can lead to this milk alkali syndrome?

I am new to Peat's way of eating and as a result increased my dairy over the past two weeks and also starting putting a little baking soda in my OJ. This past week I started getting low back pain, which is quite unusual for me--used to get it as PMS. As the week went along the pain seemed to get worse after taking the baking soda, so I googled kidney pain and baking soda and found this site: http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/ency ... 000332.htm

Today I didn't have any dairy or baking soda and had extra aspirin for the pain as much as for anything else. No reduction yet, I'm certainly hoping to get back to eating dairy as I love it. I guess I'll just cut the baking soda.

Anyone have any insight or suggestions?

Mittir

Calcium's upper tolerable limit for an adult is 2500 mg.
RP recommends 1200-2000 mg. I remember reading case studies
of alkali syndrome and those intakes were very high, 6-7 grams of calcium.
I think baking soda is the possible source of problem.
I have noticed baking soda increases urination and that can deplete
minerals. Baking soda also changes pH of blood, which can be a factor
in kidney stone forming or causing kidney to expel existing stone.
Charlie asked RP about bag breathing and kidney stone and his response
was that co2 can relax the kidney enough to let stone pass.
Bag breathing and baking soda can have similar effect on pH

Blossom

Forum Supporter
Mittir-I'm getting the impression that some people should proceed slowly with increasing calcium especially while using sodium bicarbonate or bag breathing. Do you feel this is a sensible approach? Possibly gradually increasing any or all of the above might be wise.

Mittir

Blossom said: