Hi, my name is Andrew

Barliman

I am a general medical practitioner with an interest in the holistic (including drug) management of fibromyalgia and ADHD.

I am becoming increasingly in the areas of optimising diet to improve acuity of mental functioning, and the now related issue of nutrigenomics.

I have been a silent reader of Ray's articles for some years.

As an allopathic doctor, I work in a profession in which there is excessive conformity, and a depressing lack of intellectual curiosity.I am particularly impressed by the more original thinking and careful scholarship i see on Ray's site, and hope that the forum will complement that.

charlie

Admin
The Law & Order Admin
Andrew, welcome to the forum!

According to Peat, things like fibromyalgia, chronic fatigue syndrome are all simply symptoms of a hypometabolic state.

I think its really neat to have a doctor here. And I think your patients are lucky to have you looking outside the "box" and not adhering to the conformity of the medical profession. Bravo!

If you do notice. We do tend to rag on doctors here. It's only because they are not like you(a lot of us have been kept sick by doctors and their knowledge), and do not want to think for themselves. For the most part they would rather follow marching orders and be done with it.

OP
B

Barliman

For the most part they are usually kept too busy fitting in with current regulatory requirements to look beyond the ends of their noses.

narouz

Welcome, Barliman!
It will be nice to have an (open-minded) M.D.'s point-of-view here.

charlie

Admin
The Law & Order Admin
Barliman said:
For the most part they are usually kept too busy fitting in with current regulatory requirements to look beyond the ends of their noses.

I could definitely see how that would make things very difficult. :(

narouz said:
Welcome, Barliman!

It will be nice to have an (open-minded) M.D.'s point-of-view here.

Indeed. I am looking forward to it.

jyb