Help With Early Waking

OP
C

CaliforniaKat

I don't know why that posted multiple times and don't know how to get rid of the duplicates. Sorry.

tara

I am not restricting calories intentionally, but might not be eating enough for the upgrade in metabolism. Sleep got worse as I switched from NDT to t3. I'm actually thinking about trying to switch back but at this point I am so worried about doing more damage and making things worse. I really wish there was a person I could work with more closely about this. I'm relatively new to Peat. Have read Deering and Hatch books. Have been hypo for decades and taking different forms of thyroid at various points.

I take t3 spread out across the day with food. Last dose is afternoon.
I am not an expert in this at all. But my understanding is that if supplementing thyroid, its useful to:
a. Make sure nutritional needs are being covered, including keeping blood sugar levels reasonably stable.
b. Keep the thyroid hormone levels reasonable steady.

I don't know what you should do, or how your current amounts of supplement have been arrived at. Not advice, but these are possible experiments I might consider doing myself in your shoes, while monitoring effects:

- Keep the same daily amount of T3, but split it into more doses and spread it out more so that your last small dose for the day is last thing before sleep. If you have 25mg tablets, you should be able to get them down to at least 1/8ths, if not 1/16ths or 1/24ths, with a pill splitter, even if the pieces aren't completely even. Then spread them out from when you wake till you go to bed.

- Or continue with your T3 as is, or dropping a small part of your later in the day dose, and add a tiny NDT dose at bed time. If you add NDT, wait at least 2 weeks to reassess before increasing.

Sleep deprivation is hard. I hope you get relief soon.

More sunshine may make a difference. Can you do anything to get a bit more? Get out in it at lunch time for little?

OP
C

CaliforniaKat