Help! I'm A 27 Year Old Woman, Feeling Like A Medical Mystery: Facial Hair, Body Hair, But Not PCOS?

Celia

I have an embarrassing problem with dark body hair and side-burns. I've been lurking on these forums for months, but I haven't found something that fits, since I don't have other problems that are related to PCOS. By most standards, I'm healthy. I'm slim and my cycles are normal. My energy levels are normal. My body temperature is slightly cold by the standards here, but not by much. Also, I've talked to a doctor about PCOS a couple years ago, but he didn't think I had it.

My risk factors are that I was a serious high school track athlete, was vegetarian in my teens and early twenties (ate a lot of soy), and had some bad eating habits. I first started having unusual body hair when I was going through a particularly stressful time in my early twenties so it might be a correlation with stress too.

I've had problems with PMS and sometimes painful periods, but a few months ago started taking Progest-E and D3 and that's helped more than I expected. But my body hair is getting worse. I was reading somewhere that progesterone supplements can actually cause testosterone levels to rise and I'm wondering if I should discontinue Progest-E or maybe I'm taking it wrong. I'm also wondering about taking thyroid, but I'm a confused about how to do this.

Any ideas about what's wrong with me and where I go from here?

OP
C

Celia

What kind of heritage do you have and what kinds of face and body hair do some of the other ladies in your family have?
I'm mostly of Irish descent. As far as I know, this isn't a problem for any of my relatives.

M

marikay