Help: Gaining Weight + Healing Hashimoto's

FD8

Hello everyone

First of all, I must say I am very new to the Ray Peat approach.
I am 23, live in Ireland and have been recently diagnosed with Hashimoto's thyroiditis.

I have lost a lot of weight over the past 6/7 months. I followed a strict macrobiotic from April 2014 to November and it was hell. Made me really sick and probably caused my thyroid problems (daily consumption of soy products)

I've recently stumbled upon articles that mentioned the Ray Peat diet and I'm really intrigued/interested.

At this point I want nothing more but to feel healthy again: more energy, normal digestion, normal weight.

My question is : what advice would you give a total beginner like me in order to :
-re-gain the weight I lost (about 12kg)
-heal my thyroid and body (My symptoms look like IBS/SIBO or whatever most self-diagnosed people with digestive issues think they have ..)

Thank you very much

Welcome!

I would take morning temperature and heart rate, after waking up and after breakfast. If low then I'd start small amounts of thyroid dried glandular, or NDT. I like Tyromax which is a boutique product made by Haidut here for that. You can start with 2 to 4 drops and work up over 4 or 6 weeks as your temps respond.

I'd also move to a diet low in irritating fermentation in the gut. That means dairy products, sugar, honey, orange juice (without the pulp if possible), and maybe gelatin if you can tolerate it. And well cooked veggies but no raw salads or raw veggies. White rice or boiled potatoes might work better. You have to see.

It seems that with thryoid improving, transit times in the gut go FASTER and SIBO and IBS sometimes resolves with nothing but that. I've also seen others from India get great relief with a short course of gum acacia or mastic gum, but again that is not "Peaty".