Hello from VT!

Newbophyte

Hi everyone,

I am a 24 year old guy tormented by a receding hairline for a few years. Not wanting to go the medication route, I recently found out about the Ray Peat stuff through Danny Roddy, not sure how I ran into that. I'm here to learn, and look into the Peat-arian vs WAPF stuff, and maybe cook my way to better health. I currently cook about 90% of my food, have been gluten-free since my early teens, and want to look at diet, metabolism and hormones. I am a very rank beginner, but want to get away from pro-inflammatory foods, chief among them sugar (or so I had thought). I hope to reduce systemic inflammation, do away with scalp dermatitis and feel more energetic overall.

My diet is quite varied, I just had some fruit and milk upon waking, then around noon cooked some eggs, bacon and potatoes while I prepared a giant bowl of slow-cook chili: 1.5# red beans, 2# ground beef, onions, celery, carrots, zucchini, garlic, etc. My diet has contained many more vegetables than fruits, and most of those have been cooked. I am very conscientious of the oils I use to cook with, and up until recently was consuming a lot of olive oil and using it to cook with as well. I make an effort to get animal-derived saturated fats in the form of dairy products, and am starting to eat a few carrots a day as well. I was intermittently taking cod liver oil, but have stopped that. I will do stuff like roast whole chickens, use the bones for stock, eat the skin, etc.

According to Roddy's guidelines, I should start to monitor my pulse and temperature, and will do so when I get a chance to buy the necessary equipment. Also would like to know what benefits there are to getting work done on blood levels of vitamins/minerals/etc. Is there a step-by-step guide to peating out?

PS: I was shopping for liver and oxtails and bones, they were all more expensive than steaks! What the hell is going on in the supermarket? I thought that people didn't buy this stuff!

tara