Google alternative?

M

metabolizm

I can no longer use Google because of the blatant censorship going on there.

Can anyone recommend a search engine which is relatively free of censorship?

And in (top right of the home page) Preferences > Engines, you can change what it aggregates results from. If Google and Bing are included, most results will be Google and Bing results, so whatever they censor will effectively be censored on the SearX results too. But you can change those settings; for example, DuckDuckGo, Qwant, Startpage can be used to aggregate general search results from instead.

Last edited:
i've been using DuckDuckGo for many months.

I still use scholar.google.com because there is nothing like it. But otherwise it's duckduckgo all the way.

B

Braveheart

Brave ...and a variety of search engines...MetaGer, the default.

yerrag

Hard to ditch Google search when our phones are mostly Google's Android.

I would get a second phone with Huawei's HarmonyOS, and get a second identity. If the HarmonyOS works well and as it develops its ecosystem to ably compete with Google, I would ditch the Google phone. Serves Google right for doing evil and censoring.

There would of course be a nice search engine that doesn't have to be US, Chinese, or Russian. But being free from Google's handset is the best way to be free of Google.

Sefton10

Another vote for DDG. With Brave browser too.

B

Blaze

Another vote for DDG. With Brave browser too.