Glutamine Powder Good For Constipation?

serling78

Curious if glutamine is good for constipation. I've been having constipation /slow motility issues for most of the year now and I've been using glutamine powder for about 6 months. I'm not sure if it's helping at this point or not. Basically it seems like it's better than nothing. I know glutamine is good for IBS but I'm not sure if IBS usually involves diarrhea VS constipation.

Wondering if I've been blindly using this under the wrong assumptions up until now.

YourUniverse

Coffee, apples, orange juice, coconut oil, milk fat, vitamin K, hydration and most generally thyroid relieve constipation. Glutamine is a precursor to glutamate IIRC which is something to avoid

Maljam

What is your diet and lifestyle like? Constipation can be a tricky one to work out but if you give me a bit more information I'll share my thoughts. Coming from a previously chronically constipated person that is no longer constipated.

Are you consuming cow dairy? Travis wrote many great posts on this but cow dairy has the opioid potential to cause constipation in susceptible people. I suffered with this for genuinely years until I read his posts and made the switch to goat dairy, it was life changing.

OP
S

serling78

Why not just use magnesium

Unfortunately I discovered over the course of years that any form of magnesium kills my libido (also causes shrinkage down there...). I've tried to make magnesium work for me many different times but I always get the same result.

Frankdee20

How about more Fiber ? Coffee ? Milk ?

OP
S

serling78

What is your diet and lifestyle like? Constipation can be a tricky one to work out but if you give me a bit more information I'll share my thoughts. Coming from a previously chronically constipated person that is no longer constipated.