Food & Supplement -Questions PCOS/insulin resistant/hormones

Peata

So I think I'm finally on the right track with Peat's ideas in correcting PCOS issues, but want to see if there is more to the puzzle that I'm not seeing yet. I've been researching various things on it but it's slow going, and so I want to just ask here in case people have ideas.

~~

How important is dietary fat for this condition?
I know free fatty acids contribute to the insulin resistance, but is that just PUFA or do saturated fats in diet also need to be lower?
And if fat does need to be lower...I don't want to have to eat "low fat" (tried that Summer 2012 and it helped at first but then nothing), but could happily manage keeping fat under 25% of calories. Is that good enough?

~~

I've been using Peat food since March 2013 with improvements in some areas, but in the last week since supplementing is when I really noticed more, including weight loss. This was after using supplements for a week or two. They are:

-B1 (thiamine) - 250 - 500 mg.
-B3 (niacinamide) - varies
-B6 (pyroxidine) - 25 mg.
-Magnesium - varies, but usually 800 mg spread out over day and sometimes epsom salt baths
-E - one capsule Unique E in a.m. and one in p.m. so 800 iu daily
-lots of Progest-E (frequent doses as I feel it's needed, not measuring but would estimate at least 1/8 t. each dose. Not sure this improvement can be attributed to Progest-E alone because it seems things really started getting better after the other supplements above)

Which of these (or all) do you think is proving most helpful?
Any dosage changes you would make?
And especially, am I lacking any other supplement that I should be trying?

~~

Extra info:

I take Metformin (glucophage) but since coming into bad estrogen dominance in late 30s it hasn't helped with much that I know of.

natedawggh

Re: Food & Supplement -Questions PCOS/insulin resistant/horm

Metformin made it hard for me to breathe. I stopped taking it.