Fat Vs Sugar - Mitochondrial Oxidation, CO2, Krebs Cycle

north

Studying cell respiration now due to what i think is low CO2 in my own case. I haven't officially studied biology so i am pretty new to this, only learned what i know since started reading Peats stuff.
I got a few questions, or would like some opinion, from you guys who study biology or know this better.

According to this graphic, when looking at the first steps in the glycolysis, step 3 is fructose-6-phosphate, is this what Peat talks about, that fructose skips a step in the energy production chain?
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cellular_ ... ration.svg

From https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cellular_respiration :
"Biology textbooks often state that 38 ATP molecules can be made per oxidised glucose molecule during cellular respiration (2 from glycolysis, 2 from the Krebs cycle, and about 34 from the electron transport system).[2] However, this maximum yield is never quite reached due to losses (leaky membranes) as well as the cost of moving pyruvate and ADP into the mitochondrial matrix, and current estimates range around 29 to 30 ATP per glucose.[2]"

So, if "leaky membranes" cause a lower amount of ATP to be produced, we should likely get a better production of ATP just by avoiding PUFA? But, is it the same that it takes 4 years for tissues to get rid of pufa, as "cell membranes" have no incorporated pufa? Since Peat has a different view on "membranes", how do we view something like "PUFA in a cell membrane"?

They talk about O2 is the main electron acceptor, and some species can use other molecules for this. Is this where cascara and methylene blue plays a role, acting as an electron acceptor in place of oxygen if there is lack of it? I think haidut posted something about methylene blue only working in cells with inhibited respiration, so that should make sense.