Estrogen-mediated Brain Protection Directly Linked To Intake Of Fatty Acids Found In Oils

Mossy

Once I saw the title of this "scientific" study I had to post this, considering it is so polar opposite to the Peat perspective.

I am new to Peating, but have reaped good benefits from it so far. I'm not 100% healed/fully recovered yet, but so far what I've put to the test has been helpful and encouraging me to continue. I mention this to show that I'm pro-Peat, but am always curious when I see these studies that claim to have positive results using approaches so opposite Peat.

Something to add, which must've been talked about many times before on this forum, is the longevity of the Asian cultures with pro estrogen, pro PUFA diets. I mention this because this is a Japanese study.

I stumbled upon this study via a promotion to sell fish oil by an online retailer. I'd like to think there is more to the intent and motive of the researchers of the study than to just sell supplements -- but, maybe this is the case.

Estrogen-mediated brain protection directly linked to intake of fatty acids found in oils
"Scientists are increasingly appreciating estrogen's role in brain health. Now for the first time, production of estrogen in the brain has been directly linked to the presence of docosahexaenoic acid (DHA)."

This looks to be the original study referenced in the above article: Potentiation of 17β-estradiol synthesis in the brain and elongation of seizure latency through dietary supplementation with docosahexaenoic acid

EDIT: I've updated this post to include link to the more in-depth study.

Last edited:

rei

DHA supplementation made estrogen levels rise significantly. I don't find it surprising that estrogen delays the onset of the seizures, when you think about the effects estrogen has in the body it is only logical that a cell in a high estrogen environment takes longer to react to this poison.