Effects Of Alcohol Have Changed. What Is The Significance?

TheSir

I used to enjoy drinking a couple of beers every now and then. Lately getting even mildly buzzed makes me VERY depressed. I feel sad, hopeless, even moving is physically hard. Then once I sober up I feel normal again.

What could be causing this change? Could I be repressing some emotions that come to surface when my inhibitions loosen, or is there something wrong with my metabolism?

Inaut

@haidut mentioned that 1-2 drinks are beneficial for removing iron and lps but it’s a thin line. I think it was mentioned in the interview with mr. buttersworth

I have no experience with your specific problem, but the more evenings/nights in a row I used to drink the more crippling my anxiety became the day(s) after. Alcohol is very capable of causing what you describe as well. For a long time I allowed social pressure to pull me into the usual Fri-Sun pastime. Gonna post an excerpt from a rare useful article on the Guardian that accurately describes what occurs: ‘Hangxiety’: why alcohol gives you a hangover and anxiety.

"David Nutt, professor of neuropsychopharmacology at Imperial College, London, is the scientist who was fired in 2009 as the government’s chief drug adviser for saying alcohol is more dangerous than ecstasy and LSD. I tell him I have always assumed my morning-after mood was a result of my brain having shrivelled like a raisin through alcohol-induced dehydration. When Nutt explains the mechanics of how alcohol causes crippling anxiety, he paints an even more offputting picture.
Alcohol, he says, targets the Gaba (gamma-aminobutyric acid) receptor, which sends chemical messages through the brain and central nervous system to inhibit the activity of nerve cells. Put simply, it calms the brain, reducing excitement by making fewer neurons fire. "Alcohol stimulates Gaba, which is why you get relaxed and cheerful when you drink,” explains Nutt.